WorldCupQualifier : Bantwana walloped in Nigeria

WorldCupQualifier : Bantwana walloped in Nigeria

Bantwana, South Africa’s u17 Women’s National team lost 6-0 to the Flamingos of Nigeria in Abuja on Saturday in the first leg of the final round of the U17 FIFA World Cup qualifiers.

nigeria-u-20-women-team-the-falconets-e1408005524175And with that heavy defeat, it will take a herculean effort to overturn the huge deficit for our girls in the return leg in two weeks time.

Bantwana had not played an official match due to the withdrawal of Zambia earlier this year and lack of match fitness showed from the word go against the match fit and bigger Nigerians.

The Flamingos of Nigeria went into halftime leading 6-0 with only two players dominating play in the first half.

Atinuke Fajobi scored a brace in the 2nd and 33rd minute while captain Busayo Ajibade scored four goals in the 26th, 30th, 35th and 42nd minutes.

Bantwana coach Maud Khumalo said the scoreline was a rude awakening for her charges.

“This was always going to be a tough ask of the girls considering they haven’t played an international match up to this stage, but such is football.

“I believe we gave the Nigerians too much respect in the first half. We also had a lapse in concentration and lack to communication in the first half but in the second half we played to our strengths.

“We showed that we can hold them and with more practice, we believe we have what it takes to do better in the second leg,” said Khumalo.

The second leg of the final round of the 2016FIFA U17 Women’s World Cup, will take place on 26 March 2015, at the Makhulong Stadium out in Tembisa, Johannesburg.

Kickoff is scheduled for 14:00.

South African starting XI: Mologadi Maluleke; Deveny Rhoda; Sinoxolo Cesane; Karabo Dhlamini; Sibulele Holweni; Tshwarelo Digaoto; Modikanalo Mashigo; Zimasa Dedeka (c); Karabo Makhurubetshi; Kaylyn Jordaan; Noxolo Cesane

Substitutions: Kelsey Dawson; Siphesihle Madala; Khanya Xesi; Bongeka Gamede; Antonia Maponya; Morongwa Manamela; Kirsten Nolan

Nigerian starting XI: Cynthia Nnadozie; Onyinyechi Ibe; Patience Dike; Onyenaturuchi Ucheibe; Ljeoma Kenneth; Ebunoluwa Adeboye; Mercy Omokwo; Atinuke Fajobi; Busayo Ajibade (c); Ewomazino Efih; Arit Itu

Substitutions: Chinaza Obia; Anu Sunday; Ndidi Duru; Florence Ijamilusi; Onyedikachi Aku; Obukohwo Ikoyo; Ohunen Abdulkareem