The Football Awards to be handed out at the Football Luncheon

The Football Awards to be handed out at the Football Luncheon

The inaugural Football Luncheon and Awards will take place on Saturday 30 July 2016 the same day as the Carling Black Label Champion Cup match between Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates at the FNB Stadium in Johannesburg.

football - soccer ball in goal

The Awards programme will give recognition to SA’s leading football media personalities, development practitioners, sponsors, football icons including past players and coaches respectively.

The Luncheon and Awards, which will be held at SAFA House, is organised by sports industry event company Gerom Media and it has the full endorsement of SAFA’s Development Agency (SDA). It will start at 11am and finish at 2.30pm, allowing guests to take a short walk to the stadium to watch the match afterwards at 3pm.

According to Gerrit Davids, MD of Gerom Media, the event will give recognition to those media personalities that are regarded as the best in the business by their peers. Based on a survey that will be distributed to all football media, awards will be handed out to the best football blogger, Radio and TV programme hosts, commentators, studio-analysts, reporters, photographers, print journalists, publication, club TV magazine programme, web site and team of the year; etc.

The SDA will also hand out awards to the best, club academy, youth football competition, football based development programme and the leading SAFA coaching instructor as well as a number of Chairman’s awards. The SDA will create both the short-list and decide the winners in each category.

The media will also vote for those commercial brands, which according to them are contributing the most to the promotion of football in the country. Awards categories include most visible football competition sponsor, club sponsor, kit sponsor, sponsorship campaign and sponsor of the year respectively.  Special recognition will also be given to some of the country’s leading icons of past football players and coaches that have made a lasting impact since re-admission in 1992.

Awards Categories & 2016 Nominees as put forward by SA’s football media.

Please Note: The short list below was nominated for by the football media of South Africa via a survey conducted during June 2016 and not put forward by a panel of judges or a committee for that matter. Names appearing herein are entirely based on the preferences of the football media and no other source.

Television Programme Host of the Year
– Carol Tshabalala: SuperSport
– Robert Marawa: SuperSport
– Thomas Mlambo: SABC Sport

Television Commentator of the Year
– Arnold Rankoko: SuperSport
– Baba Mthethwa: SuperSport
– Sizwe Mabena: SuperSport

Radio Commentator of the Year
– Brian Letsogo: Motsweding FM
– Joseph (Joe) Hudla: Ukhozi FM
– Sydney Mashige: Phalaphala FM

Newspaper Journalist of the Year
– Bareng Batho Kortjaas: Sunday Times
– Tiyani wa ka Mabasa: The Sowetan
– Tshepang Mailwane: Sowetan & Sunday World

Magazine Journalist of the Year
– Chad Klate: Kick Off Magazine
– Lovemore Moyo: Kick Off Magazine
– Zola Doda: Kick Off Magazine

Radio Reporter of the Year
– Katlego Modiba: Power 98.7
– Thabiso Mosia: Power 98.7
– Velile Mbuli: SABC Sport

Football TV Reporter of the Year
– Carol Tshabalala: SuperSport
– Phumlani Msibi: SuperSport
– Robert Marawa: SuperSport

Photographer of the Year
– Lefty Shivambu: Gallo Images
– Sydney “Fish” Mahlangu: Back Page Pix
– Trevor Kunene: Daily Sun

Football Studio Analyst of the Year
– Amanda Dlamini: SuperSport
– Jimmy Tau: SuperSport
– Siphiwe Mkhonza: SABC Sport

Club TV Magazine Programme of the Year
– Kaizer Chiefs TV
– Mamelodi Sundowns: The Sky is the Limit
– Orlando Pirates FC-Up The Bucs

Football Website of the Year

Club Website of the Year
– Ajax Cape Town:
– Kaizer Chiefs:
– Mamelodi Sundowns:
– Orlando Pirates:

Publication of the Year
– Kick-Off Magazine
– Soccer Laduma
– Sowetan Soccer
– The Citizen-Phakaaathi

Team of the 2015/16 Season
– Chippa United FC
– Mamelodi Sundowns FC

Competition Sponsor of the Year
– Absa
– Carling Black Label
– Nedbank

Club Sponsor of the Year
– Carling Black Label
– Engen
– Vodacom

Kit Sponsor of the Year
– Adidas
– Kappa
– Nike

Sponsorship Campaign of the Year
– Absa Premier League
– Carling Black Label Cup
– Nedbank Cup / Ke Yona Player Search

Grand Prix Awards
Print Media Personality of the Year
Broadcast Media Personality of the Year

SAFA Development Agency (SDA): Football Development Awards
– Best Club Academy
– Best Youth Football Competition
– Best Football based Youth Development Programme
– Best SAFA Coach Instructor
– Chairman’s Awards

Football Icon Awards
Nominees to be announced in due course.