SAFA : Mashaba names COSAFA Cup starting eleven

Rising defender Rivaldo Coetzee will captain the Bafana Bafana COSAFA Cup squad against neighbours Lesotho this afternoon.


The clash will take place today Saturday, 18 June 2016 at Sam Nujoma Stadium. Kickoff is at 15h00 local time (SA time 16h00).

Rivaldo is the most capped player in this squad and will partner with Tshepo Rikhotso in the centre of defence while goalkeeper Reyaad Pieterse will finally get his first Bafana cap.

Thembele Sikhakhane and Tebogo Moerane will play at right and left back respectively.

Abbubaker Mobara, Lebogang Phiri, Aubrey Modiba and Thembinkosi Lorche will form the midfield quartet while Judas Moseamedi will be supported by Gift Motupa upfront.

Kwanda Mngonyama has been ruled out of the quarterfinal match due to a hamstring injury.

South Africa starting XI:
Reyaad Pietere (GK), Tebogo Moerane; Thembele Sikhakhane; Rivaldo Coetzee (c), Tshepo Rikhotso, Abbubaker Mobara, Thembinkosi Loche; Lebogang Phiri; Aubrey Modiba, Judas Moseomedi; Gift Motupa

Subs: Jody February (GK), Nkosingiphile Gumede (GK); Terciuos Malepe; Siphesihle Stuurman; Phumlani Ntshangase; Menzi Masuku; Deolin Mekoa; Thabiso Kutumela