SAFA : Bafana Bafana crowned COSAFA Champions

SAFA : Bafana Bafana crowned COSAFA Champions

20160625-champsSouth Africa….. 3 (Motupa pen 33’ 86’; Kutumela 66’)

Botswana……… 2 (Makgantai 16’; Kabelo Seakanyeng 69’)

Bafana Bafana are the 2016 COSAFA Region champions after beating Botswana 3-2 in the Namibian capital of Windhoek on Saturday, 25 June at a freezing Sam Nujoma Stadium.

Bafana Bafana started with a bang and they had a goal disallowed in the 3rd minute when Moseamedi scored from a goalmouth scramble but his effort was ruled illegitimate.

But it was Botswana who managed to get the first goal of the match against the run of play when Makgantai’s innocuous looking effort beat a poorly positioned Pieterse to give the Zebras a 1-0 advantage.

Bafana Bafana represented at this tournament by the u23 side heading to the Rio Olympics were then awarded a penalty in the 33rd minute after Motupa was impeded in the box and the Orlando Pirates striker rose up to fire a cheeky spot kick into the net to make it 1-1.

The match swung from one end to the other in the second half but it was Bafana Bafana who took the lead when Motupa and Kutumela combined for the later to score into an empty net.

But another moment of poor goalkeeping again saw Botswana equalise moments later when Kebelo Seakanyeng’s shot somehow eluded Pieterse.

But with a few minutes to go to full time, South Africa were awarded the penalty which Motupa coolly slotted home in the 86th minute to set off wild celebrations from the Bafana Bafana entourage.

South Africa starting XI:
Reyaad Pietere (GK); Tebogo Moerane; Abbubaker Mobara; Rivaldo Coetzee (c); Tercious Malepe; Deolin Mekoa; Lebogang Phiri; Aubrey Modiba; Menzi Masuku; Judas Moseamedi; Gift Motupa

South African Subs:
Jody February (GK), Nkosingiphile Gumede (GK), Tshepo Rikhotso; Siphesihle Stuurman, Thembela Sikhakhane, Thembinkosi Lorch; Thabiso Kutumela

Botswana starting XI:
Mwampole Masule (GK); Tapiwa Gadibolae; Mosha Gaolaolwe; Thato Kebue; Onkabetse Makgantai; Lesego Galenamotlhale; Lemponye Tshireletso; Boitumelo Mafoko (c); Thabang Sesinyi; Lebogang Ditsele; Lesenya Ditsele

Botswana subs:
Kabelo Dambe (GK); Keolopile Molemi; Tebogo Sosome; Kabelo Seakanyeng; Omaatla Kebatho; Hendrick Moyo; Lemogang Maswena; Otlogetswe Mogorosi; Olekantse Mambo