PSL confirms major Nedbank change

PSL confirms major Nedbank change

The Premier Soccer League have confirmed major changes to the 2020/21 Nedbank Cup ahead of this evening’s Last 32 draw.

This year’s Nedbank Cup will for the first time ever be contested by all 32 PSL teams after SAFA announced the withdrawal of all amateur teams.

This decision was taken by the association following their suspension of all amateur football activity in an attempt to combat the second wave of Covid-19 sweeping across South Africa and claiming hundreds of lives daily.

The draw for the round of 32 is scheduled for this evening and the League have since confirmed that in place of the eight amateur teams from the ABC Motsepe League or SAB League, the teams that were eliminated from the GladAfrica Championship will be reentered into the competition.

“The South African Football Association have apologized to the PSL and indicated that the association will not be able to provide eight teams to participate in this season’s Nedbank Cup due to the fact that non-professional football is not continuing due to Covid-19,” read a statement.

“The PSL has discussed the matter with Nedbank and agreed that the only appropriate way to deal with the matter is to restore the eight GladAfrica championship teams recently knocked out in the qualification competition to the Nedbank Cup.

“The 2020/21 Nedbank Cup will consequently proceed with 32 teams, being 16 DStv Premiership teams and 16 Glad Africa championship teams.

“All of these participating teams will be a part of this evening’s draw.”

The draw is set to take place live on SuperSport TV (PSL channel 202) at 18h00 tonight.