After an intensive trialing process spanning two weekends, 800 hopeful participants were narrowed down to 19 of the most talented, young un-signed footballers selected to join Season 2 of the Nike Academy.

The coaching and administrative staff underwent a lengthy review process to ensure that all players had equal opportunity to showcase their skills and that the players with the most potential were identified.

“We decided to select a smaller group of players this season, in order to focus on quality and be able to improve the intensity of training that is provided to the boys. We have also increased the number of training sessions per week to assist with this,” says Arthur Zwane, Nike Academy Head Coach.

Zwane will once again be supported by assistant coaches Cyril Nzama and Stanton Fredericks, and strength and conditioning coach, Percy Moloi. The training programme will include game play and technical drills, match day tactics and analysis, and surprise visits from Nike Athletes to mentor and inspire the young players.

The inaugural session took place last night, where the South African National first team joined the training session ahead of their FIFA World Cup qualifier match against Cape Verde on Friday.

“We would like to say a big thank you to the Bafana Bafana squad for spending time with our young players,” says Zwane. “Inspiration from pro athletes is a big component of the training programme and we are honoured that the National first team was able to kick start the second season of the Nike Academy with us. We wish the team the best of luck for their upcoming matches against Cape Verde.”

The 19 players selected for Nike Academy Season 2 are:

  1. Bogosi Morojele
  2. Humayd Moosa
  3. Jacques Henry
  4. Jason Arends
  5. Kamogelo Maimane
  6. Katlego Hlale
  7. Kopano Thuntsane
  8. Ledumo Moloi
  9. Leranco Miller
  10. Lesego Mokgomo
  11. Luke Adams
  12. Manqoba Luvuno
  13. Mmeli Mwelase
  14. Moagi Makhoane
  15. Nkosinathi Temba
  16. Sibusiso Rantsie
  17. Sibosiso Ngwenya
  18. Siyanda Mpetwane
  19. Tshepo Myeni
The squad will be completed by the six players retained from Season 1, namely:
  1. Thapelo Molefe
  2. Thato Tshabalala
  3. Diego de Carvalho
  4. Rivano De Villiers
  5. Mbongnei Mabaringe
  6. Pranesh Padayachee
Source : Nike South Africa