Its Under 17 World cup time in Chile

Its Under 17 World cup time in Chile

The FIFA under 17 World cup starts today in Chile.


South Africa will play in this competition for the first time ever.

The FIFA U-17 World Cup was first started as an U-16 World Championship but in 2007 it changed to U-17, although the age limit was increased from 16 to 17. Its only Asia who still applies the U-16 run to their qualifiers. The first edition of the FIFA U-17 was played in 1985 and unlike the World Cup its played every two years.

The most successful team in this tournament is Nigeria with 4 titles and were runner ups three times, while Brazil is second with two titles and two runner up status and Ghana and Mexico have won it twice each.

Six continents are taking part in this tournament, Africa (4), Aisa (4), Oceania(1), Europe(6), South America(5) and North, Central America and Caribbean (4).

Also Read : Amajimbos full squad in Chile

Africa is represented by  Guinea, Mali, Nigeria and South Africa.

Asia is represented by Austrulia, Korea DPR, Korea Republic and Syria.

Also Read : Amajimbos Ready to take Under 17 World Cup by storm

Oceania is represented by New Zealand.

South America is represented by Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Ecuador and Paraguay.

Europe is represented by Belgium, Croatia, England, France, Germany and Russia.

Central America and Caribbean is represented by  Costa Rica, Honduras, Mexico and USA.

Also Read : Under 17 Midfield Maestro ready to play

The African U-17 Championship took place in Niger on 15th February to 1st March 2015. All representative of Africa were semi-finalist at that tournament.