GLOCAFAwards : Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang the new king of Africa

GLOCAFAwards : Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang the new king of Africa
CAF named Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang the African Player of the Year in Abuja on Thursday night.
The Borussia Dortmund striker collected 143 points to beat second-placed Yaya Toure (136 points) and third-placed Andre Ayew (112 points) to the prize.
The Ghana and Swansea City star lost out of the award to Gabon and Dortmund forward Pierre Emerick Aubamenyang but the complete results show that both Gabon and Ivory Coast voted for Andre.

Gabon voted 4 points for Andre Ayew, 5 points for Aubamenyang and a point for Yaya Toure.

Ivory Coast voted 4 points for Andre Ayew, none for the winner Aubameyang and 5 points for Yaya Toure.

However, Ghana voted only for Andre Ayew by giving him 5 points but did not vote for either Aubamenyang or Yaya Toure.

Yaya Toure seemed shocked at being a runner up. Yaya has been voted the best footballer in Africa in 2011, 2012, 2013 and in 2014.

Aubameyang is currently enjoying top spot in the Bundesliga’s goal-scorers’ list and his rapid rise has attracted the interest of a number of Europe’s biggest clubs. He has netted 18 goals in Germany’s top flight this season.
Below is the complete list of players who made it into the African Best XI of the year 2015.

Robert Kidiaba (GK), Serge Aurier, Ayman Abdenour, Mohammed Meftah, Andre Ayew, Yaya Toure, Sadio Mane, Yacine Brahimi, Mbwana Ally Samantha, Pierre Emerick Aubameyang and Bhagdad Bounedjah.

Kermit Erasmus made the list of Africa XI as a sub

The rest of the CAF Awards:
Most Promising Talent : Etebo Oghenekaro (Nigeria)
Africa-Based Player of the Year: Mbwana Samatta (Tanzania and TP Mazembe)
Women’s Player of the Year: Gaelle Enganamouit (Cameroon)
Youth Player of the Year: Victor Osimhen (Nigeria)
Coach of the Year: Hervé Renard (Ivory Coast)
Referee of the Year: Bakary Papa Gassama (Gambia)
African Legends: CK Gyamfi (Ghana) and Samuel Mbappé Léppé (Cameroon)
National Team of the Year: Ivory Coast
Women’s National Team of the Year: Cameroon
Club of the Year: TP Mazembe (DR Congo)
Fair Play Award: Allez Casa (Senegal)
Leader of the Year: Abdiqani Said Arab (Somalia)
Platinum Award: Muhammadu Buhari (President of Nigeria)