Euro 2016 : Spain Final 23 Man Squad

Euro 2016 : Spain Final 23 Man Squad

Spain coach Vicente Del Bosque’s provisional 25-man squad for the European Championships


Atletico Madrid midfielder Saul Niguez, a £54million summer target for Jose Mourinho’s Manchester United, has not been named in Spain’s squad for Euro 2016.

The 21-year-old, who appeared in the Champions League final against Real, was left out of the squad along with Isco.

Having initially picked a 19-man squad, manager Vicente del Bosque named his final four players on Tuesday with Sergio Ramos, Juanfran, Lucas Vazquez and Koke – who also appeared in the showpiece at the San Siro on Saturday – all making the final 23.

Dani Carvajal was ruled out of the summer tournament and has been replaced by Arsenal’s Hector Bellerin after being forced off with a hip injury as Real Madrid won Undecima.

The the 21-year-old Gunners right back, who featured in the PFA Premier League Team of the Year, only made his international debut in a 3-1 victory over Bosnia on Sunday.  

‘We have tried to select a balanced squad and I think every position is well covered in this 23,’ Del Bosque said at a press conference in Salzburg ahead of Spain’s friendly with South Korea in Austria on Wednesday.

‘I’ve not spoken personally to any of the players who’ve been left behind. Everyone wanted to be here, but we only had 23 spots.’

Bellerin featured 44 times for Arsenal in all competitions this season. He had been placed on standby for Spain, but will now make the trip to France following Carvajal’s injury.

A number of star names have been left out of this year’s squad including Diego Costa, Juan Mata and Fernando Torres. Santi Cazorla, who returned to the Arsenal starting XI on the final day of the season after a spell on the sidelines has also missed out.

Spain open the defence of their title against the Czech Republic in Toulouse on June 13. They will also play Turkey and Croatia in Group D.

Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas (Porto), David de Gea (Manchester United), Sergio Rico (Sevilla)

Defenders: Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Hector Bellerin (Arsenal), Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Marc Bartra (Barcelona), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Mikel San Jose (Athletic Bilbao), Juanfran (Atletico Madrid).

Midfielders: Bruno (Villarreal), Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Thiago (Bayern Munich), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Isco (Real Madrid), David Silva (Manchester City), Pedro (Chelsea), Cesc Fabregas (Chelsea), Saul Niguez (Atletico Madrid).

Strikers: Aritz Aduriz (Athletic Bilbao), Nolito (Celta Vigo), Alvaro Morata (Juventus), Lucas Vasquez (Real Madrid)