Euro 2016 : France confirm final 23-man

Euro 2016 : France confirm final 23-man

Hosts France have confirmed their final 23-man squad for this summer’s European Championship, which includes 10 players currently  plying their trade in the Premier League.


Head coach Didier Deschamps had originally named his first-choice 23-man squad with eight players waiting on standby before being forced to make two changes due to injury.

Real Madrid defender Raphael Varane and Barcelona’s Jeremy Mathieu have been ruled out with thigh and calf injuries respectively. The pair have been replaced by Sevilla’s Adil Rami and Samuel Umtiti of Lyon.

The pre-tournament favourite’s defensive problems were highlighted during their 3-2 friendly victory over Cameroon on Monday, which included goals from Arsenal’s Olivier Giroud and the latest in a list of stunning free-kick’s from Dimitri Payet this season.

The West Ham playmaker has scored two free-kicks in three games since being recalled to the national squad as a 29-year-old and, while Deschamp’s previously had reservations about his inclusion, Payet appears to have earned himself a starting place.

Having spent their opening training sessions in Biarittz on the Atlantic coast before meeting up with the complete squad in Clairefontaine on May 24, the France players arrived in Neusift im Stubaital on Tuesday.

They will remain at their training base in Austria until June 4th – where they will play a final preparation friendly against Scotland before heading to the tournament.

The hosts will kick off their campaign against Romania on June 10 in Stade de France, before also facing Albania and Switzerland in Group A.

Goalkeepers: Hugo Lloris (Tottenham Hotspur), Steve Mandanda (Marseille), Beniot Costil (Rennes)

Defenders: Christophe Jallet (Lyon), Patrice Evra (Juventus), Adil Rami (Sevilla), Eliaquim Mangala, Bacary Sagna (both Manchester City), Lucas Digne (Roma), Laurent Koscielny (Arsenal), Samuel Umtiti (Lyon)

Midfielders: Yohan Cabaye (Crystal Palace), Lassana Diarra (Marseille), N’Golo Kante (Leicester City), Blaise Matuidi (Paris Saint-Germain), Moussa Sissoko (Newcastle United), Paul Pogba (Juventus), Dimitri Payet (West Ham United)

Forwards: Olivier Giroud (Arsenal), Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid), Andre-Pierre Gignac (UANL), Anthony Martial (Manchester United)