COSAFA Cup : South Africa Squad assemble for training

COSAFA Cup : South Africa Squad assemble for training

Bafana Bafana squad for the COSAFA tournament in Namibia has started camp in Johannesburg and will hold regular training sessions at Nike Center in Soweto from 9 – 14 June 2016.


Namibian won in South Africa last year.

Namibia have the perfect opportunity of joining the elite group of multiple winners of the tournament consisting of Zimbabwe, Zambia, South Africa and Angola.

The special invitation to the Democratic Republic of Congo have their own ambitions. The Leopards are fresh off winning the 2016 Africa Nations Championship (Chan) and should kick the tournament’s level of competitiveness up a notch.

Tickets for this prestigious tournament are on sale for N$20 and can be purchased at all TN Mobile teleshops, the Namibian Football Association’s Football House, the Freedom Land Mobile Police Station and Greewell Police Station.

Suprise names on the squad is the inclusion of two NFD outfits Baroka FC and Highlands Park.

Mothobi Mvala from Highlands Park and Thabiso Kutumela from Baroka FC were included in the squad.

Although Highlands Park are taking part in the Promotion play off this will give Mvala a big confidence booster.

This will be a cherry on top for Thabiso Kutumela after winning the top goal scorer honour in the NFD and leading his team Baroka FC to the PSL.

The squad departs for Windhoek, Namibia on 15 June 2016 with their first match scheduled for 18 June.


1. Jody Jason FEBRUARY Ajax Cape Town F.C.
2. Reyaad PIETERSE Kaizer Chiefs F.C.
3. Nkosingiphile GUMEDE Golden Arrows F.C.
4. Rivaldo Roberto COETZEE Ajax Cape Town F.C.
5. Repo Tercious MALEPE Moroka Swallows F.C.
6 Thembela SIKHAKHANE Golden Arrows F.C.
7. Tebogo MOERANE BiDvest Wits F.C.
8. K Ishmael MNGONYAMA Maritzburg United F.C.
9. Siphesihle STUURMAN Cape Town All Stars F.C.
10. Mothobi MVALA Highlands Park FC
11. Mbazima Tshepo RIKHOTSO Bloemfontein Celtic F.C.
12. Abbubaker MOBARA Ajax Cape Town F.C.
13. Gift MOTUPA Orlando Pirates F.C.
14. Lebogang Lelani  PHIRI Brondby, IF
15. Deolin Quade MEKOA Maritzburg United F.C.
16. Phumlani NTSHANGASE Bidvest Wits F.C.
17. Aubrey Maphosa MODIBA Mpumalanga Black Aces F.C.
18. Thembinkosi LORCHE Orlando Pirates F.C.
19. Thabiso Simon KUTUMELA Baroka F.C.
20. Lebo MOTHIBA Lille F.C.
21. Judas MOSEAMEDI Mpumalanga Black Aces F.C.
22. Menzi MASUKU Orlando Pirates FC