VarsityNetball : Madibaz make statement with emphatic victory over VUT

VarsityNetball : Madibaz make statement with emphatic victory over VUT

The Madibaz opened their 2017 Varsity Netball campaign with a strong showing against VUT and claimed a bonus point in their 71-25 victory.

Playing at the Coetzenburg Indoor Centre in Stellenbosch the ladies from the Friendly City quickly took control of the match in the first quarter.

Carla Viviers, a debutant in her first Varsity Netball series, showed why coach Lana Krige backed her despite her youth and the goals kept flying through the hoop with spectacular constancy.

Krige, who herself is a former South African netball player, had said she wanted her senior players such as captain Nandipha Jack, Nolusindiso Twani and Jeannie Steyn to produce a strong showing and the players delivered on the court. At the end of the second quarter the Madibaz had opened up a sizable lead and at 36-15 they were focused on grabbing a bonus-point for scoring more than fifty goals.

They did just that before the end of the third quarter, going into the final stretch leading 52-19. They kept their foot on the pedal and ran out victors courtesy of a 71-25 win, rubbing salt in the VUT wounds by scoring the final goal of the match. Jeannie Steyn, playing goalkeeper, was named the FNB Player of the Match with Nolusindiso Twani receiving the Samsung Best Shot Award.

VUT coach Martha Mosoahle-Samm will want her players to concentrate better, as they showed glimpses of potential but will need to sharpen up on defense very quickly.

The Madibaz next do battle against UWC on Monday 28 August 2017 at 16:30, while VUT are going to have to dig deep against hosts Maties at 18:00 on the same day. Both these matches will be played at the Coetzenburg Indoor Centre and fans can follow the action on the Varsity Sports social media pages.

FNB Player of the Match: Jeanie Steyn (Madibaz)

Samsung Best Shot: Nolusindiso Twani (Madibaz)


Madibaz: Nolusindiso Twani, Bianca Blom, Zimasa Tshangela, Carla Viviers, Sanelise Mgijima, Nandipha Jack, Eloise Webb, Nobubele Phuza Vuyiseka Ntsalu, Philene van Niekerk, Jeanie Steyn, Hlumisa Sithonga

VUT: Zanele Mokoena, Thokozile Masoka, Tsakani Mthombeni, Sphila Mdlolo, Fezeka Nsele, Innocentia Tshamano, Silondile Mlondo, Lerato Moeko, Linky Mukhwantheli, Buhle Radebe, Sagwadi Mathonsi, Fikile Makhuba