VarsityFootball :UP-Tuks demolish 10-man Wits

VarsityFootball :UP-Tuks demolish 10-man Wits

The University of Pretoria proved to be too much for a hapless University of the Witwatersrand and walked away 4-0 winners in their Round Five Varsity Football match at the Tuks Stadium in Pretoria. 

The teams were evenly matched early on as they tested each other in perfect conditions.

The wheels fell off for Wits when captain Saluleko Mathonsi was red carded after receiving his second yellow card in the 20th minute. Claudio De Almeida scored the opening goal in the resulting free kick as his shot curved in perfectly off the fingertips of Kamohelo Maroosi.

UP-Tuks continued to push hard for more goals but Wits’ defence held firm to restrict the men from Pretoria to a 1-0 lead at the break. It was a matter of when, not if UP-Tuks would break the dam wall, and they did so with ease as they scored two quick goals through Odwa Makha and Frank Mpedi in the 65th and 66th minute respectively.

Wits struggled to contain UP-Tuks as the latter broke through on several occasions before Makha scored their fourth to hand Wits yet another four-goal loss.

UP-Tuks will take confidence out of their convincing win as they host UWC at the Tuks Stadium next Thursday.

Samsung Best Shot: Claudio De Almeida (tuks)
FNB Man of the Match: Odwa Makha (Tuks)

UP-Tuks: 4
Goals: Claudio De Almeida, Odwa Makha (2), Frank Mpedi

Wits: 0

University of Pretoria: Daylan Hawes, Katlego Motihatsang, Simbongile Njokwe, Chinedu Okolo, Pierre Kok, Claudio De Almeida, Siphesihle Sosibo, Frank Mpedi, Jurgen Booysen, Sabelo Tsambo, Odwa Makha
Subs: Athenkosi Jojo, Clement Malmone, Leonel De Mendonca, Simthembile Ndimande, Mahlolo Mphahlele, Ntobeko Sibisi, Richard Moremi

University of the Witwatersrand: Kamohelo Moroosi, Saluleko Mathonsi, Maropeng Mphaho, Sindiswa Dlamini, Baliwe Moyakhe, Jordan Green, Keamogestwe Mokalake, Ndzalama Mongwe, Phuthi Leboho, Thabiso Rafanyane, Tumisang Manamela
Subs: Thoriso Marobane, Mahudu Seageng, Mondie Dlamini, Riaaz Kader, Lyndon Crouch, Sibusiso Nkosi, Tristan Gatter