VarsityFootball : NWU win as Varsity Football’s ‘underdogs’ top the log

VarsityFootball : NWU win as Varsity Football’s ‘underdogs’ top the log

North-West University (NWU)’s Varsity Football team, the 2017 tournament underdogs, clinched yet another crucial victory against the clever boys, Wits University, winning 2-1 in their encounter at the Mafikeng Stadium on Thursday night.

Seven minutes into the match, NWU drew first blood with striker Mogomotsi Molefe finding the back of the net with a scorching right sweep. Never far from the action, Cameron Chweu extended the lead with yet another sweeping kick three minutes before the game went into half time.

Early in the second half, Wits University found the back of the net having been awarded a penalty with the assistance of Luke Pareira, bringing the side a glimmer of hope. Not to be outdone in their home turf, Wendelle Martin and captain Sandile Mbatha both found the back of the net sealing Wits University’s fate in the second round of the 2017 Varsity Football tournament. Martin with a cracking volley and Mbatha rounding the keeper to tap home.

“As a team we are playing the kind of football that our fans want us to play,” said Mogomotsi Molefe. “These are the people that have believed in us when at times it seemed bleak. I am just glad they came out in their numbers to see us honour them.”

Having clinched their maiden victory in an away game against University of Fort Hare, and their second win tonight against Wits University, which has propelled them to the top of the fixture log, NWU are fast pacing themselves to being one of the tournament’s formidable teams in this season’s Varsity Football tournament.

Man of the match: Mogomotsi Molefe (NWU)
Samsung Best Shot: Wendelle Martin (NWU)

NWU: Kenndy bonolo, Gift Mpho Mogorosi, Mojuda Matlhanyane, Wendelle Martin, Abongile Lemese, Tshepo Makgopela, Mogomotsi Molefe, Sandile Mbatha, Vincent Langa, Vusumzi Ludwala, Cameron Chweu
Subs: Luzuko Jevuka , Khotso Moleta, Tshepo Baholo, Paseka Matsheka, Omphile Menyatsoe, Micheal Smit, Tebogo Mokgobo

Wits: Kamohelo Moroosi, Kaizer Maphanga, Bradley Mongwe, Luke Pareira, Mahle Mtabane, Phuthi Leboho, Saluleko Mathonsi, Jordaan Green, Baliwe Moyakhe, Mphaho Marupeng, Manamela Tumisang.
Subs: Sthembiso Zuke, Thabiso Rafanyane, Keamogetswe Mokalake, Sindiswa Dlamini, Tristan Gatter, Lyndon Crouch, Snethemba Msane, Phuti Leboho, Xabiso Simelela