VarsityCricket: Champs to represent SA at Red Bull Campus Cricket World Final

VarsityCricket: Champs to represent SA at Red Bull Campus Cricket World Final

The 2017 Varsity Cricket champions, NWU, will jet off to Sri Lanka on the 7th of September to compete in this year’s Red Bull Campus Cricket World Final.

They will represent South Africa from 10-12 September and come up against international teams like Sri Lanka, Australia, Bangladesh, Zimbabwe, India, Pakistan and the United Arab Emirates.

NWU were crowned winners after they defeated Tuks in the Varsity Cricket tournament in February at Senwes Park in Potchefstroom.

The team began their preparation in full swing without the likes of their captain Wihan Lubbe and key batsman Janneman Malan. Both Lubbe and Malan only recently joined the group due to their inclusion in the CSA National Academy side.

Lubbe is satisfied with his team’s preparation thus far and is sure that they are ready for the big challenge that awaits.

“The team started to prep almost two months back with three gym sessions in a week. They have also played numerous warm up games against the Easterns, the Northern Cape, and Free State just to mention a few. So I’m happy with my team’s progress,

Another positive at this stage for our group is that six from our squad who will head to Sri Lanka will also participate in the Africa Cup in Potchefstroom, so we have also prepared with each other for North West. The bowlers once again did some work, as in the Varsity Cricket tournament with former Proteas’ Johan van der Wath,” said Lubbe.

The NWU side will have the opportunity to represent their university in the green and gold colours.

“We are very excited to get such an opportunity and to go express ourselves and put our mark down as a team. This opportunity can also mean a lot for our club here in Potchefstroom when looking into the future”, said Lubbe.

The fixtures for the Red Bull Campus Cricket World Final will only be available for the teams a day before the tournament starts.

NWU team to represent South Africa: Wihan Lubbe (captain), Marques Ackerman (vice-captain), Hanco Olivier, Bantu Dandala, Edrich Lubbe, Janneman Malan, Jovaun van Wyngaardt, Lesego Senokwane, JP le Roux, Julian Soutter, Dyllan Matthews, Niel Durow, Ruan Haasbroek.