T20WC : Confirmed Men T20 Squads

T20WC : Confirmed Men T20 Squads

In-form England find no room in 15-man for squad for controversial T20 star, while Pakistan drop Ahmad Shehzad


Eoin Morgan leads a Kevin Pietersen-less England squad to the ICC World T20 in India next month.

Pietersen’s red-hot form in South Africa’s domestic T20 competition and the KFC Big Bash League for the Melbourne Stars this summer had teammate Luke Wright and former England captain Michael Vaughan calling for the exiled batsman to return to the England set-up for the World T20 tournament.

With Pakistan suffering an embarrasing exit from the ongoing Asia Cup, Pakistan Cricket Board chairman Shaharyar Khan said there will be changes in the national squad before the opening match of the World Twenty20 which begins in India next week.

“I assure there will be changes in the national team before the World Cup begins because accountability is necessary for the continuing poor performance of the team in ODIs and T20 cricket,” Khan told the media in Lahore

According to sources Shahryar had began deliberations with number of people to access how to halt the poor show of the team.

“He has also spoken to Pakistan’s Test captain Misbah-ul-Haq on phone and also invited Younis Khan for a meeting as both are his advisors on cricket matters,” one source said.

“I can assure there will not be a witch-hunt and there will be no scapegoat but it is a fact that the people have been let down by the team and management,” he added.

Pakistan crashed out of the tournament after losing to Bangladesh by five wickets on Wednesday.

Khan also made it clear that he wanted to improve Pakistan cricket and he will make changes in every department but while some might be instant others will take time.

“The team administration will be questioned about what went wrong and they will be held accountable,” he added.

Speculations are strong that the PCB might ask experienced allrounder Shahid Afridi to step down as captain and appoint wicketkeeper Sarfaraz Ahmed in his place for the World T20 when the team returns from Bangladesh later this week before going to India.

One source in the board said during deliberations today a common thread that emerged was that everyone felt Afridi was not pulling his weight as a player and seemed helpless as captain on the field.

“The chief selector could also face the axe as in the deliberations the selectors were blamed for not managing and selecting players properly since last year,” the source said.

With the World T20 2016 less than three days away, here’s a quick look at the squads of the participating teams. After Sri Lanka’s announcement, the squad sheet is complete and only West Indies are left to name a replacement for Darren Bravo, who pulled out of the squad.


 Afghanistan: Asghar Stanikzai (c), Noor Ali Zadran, Mohammad Shahzad, Usman Ghani, Mohammad Nabi, Karim Sadiq, Shafiqullah, Rashid Khan, Amir Hamza, Dawlat Zadran, Shapoor Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Samiullah Shenwari, Najibullah Zadran, Hamid Hassan

Australia: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Ashton Agar, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Peter Nevill, Andrew Tye, Shane Watson, Adam Zampa

Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Shakib Al Hasan (vc), Abu Hider, Al-Amin Hossain, Arafat Sunny, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Soumya Sarkar, Tamim Iqbal, Taskin Ahmed, Imrul Kayes, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Muktar Ali, Shuvagata Hom

England: Eoin Morgan (c), Alex Hales, Jason Roy, Joe Root, Jos Buttler, James Vince, Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, David Willey, Steven Finn, Reece Topley, Sam Billings, Liam Dawson

Hong Kong: Tanwir Afzal (c), Aizaz Khan, Anshy Rath, Jamie Atkinson, Babar Hayat, Ryan Campbell, Christopher Carter, Mark Chapman, Haseeb Amjad, Nadeem Ahmed, Nizakat Khan, Kinchit Shah, Tanveer Ahmed, Waqas Barkat, Waqas Khan

India: MS Dhoni (c), Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Shikhar Dhawan, Harbhajan Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli, Mohammed Shami, Pawan Negi, Ashish Nehra, Hardik Pandya, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh

Ireland: William Porterfield (c), Andy Balbirnie, George Dockrell, Andy McBrine, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O’Brien, Niall O’Brien, Andrew Poynter, Stuart Poynter, Boyd Rankin, Max Sorensen, Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson, Gary Wilson, Craig Young

Netherlands: Wesley Barresi (c), Ahsan Malik, Peter Borren, Mudassar Bukhari, Ben Cooper, Vivian Kingma, Stephan Myburgh, Max O’Dowd, Michael Rippon, Pieter Seelaar, Sikander Zulfiqar, Logan van Beek, Timm van der Gugten, Roelof van der Merwe, Paul van Meekeren

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (c), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Grant Elliott, Martin Guptill, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Henry Nicholls, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor

Oman: Sultan Ahmed (c/wk), Aamir Kaleem, Amir Ali, Munis Ansari, Jatinder Singh, Khawar Ali, Ajay Lalcheta, Mehran Khan, Mohammad Nadeem, Rajeshkumar Ranpura, Sufyan Mehmood, Vaibhav Wategaonkar, Yousuf Mahmood, Arun Poulose, Zeeshan Ahmad, Zeeshan Maqsood

Pakistan: Shahid Afridi (c), Mohammed Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmed, Babr Azam, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Anwar Ali, Mohammad Irfan, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nawaz, Khurram Manzoor, Rumman Rais

Scotland: Preston Mommsen (c), Kyle Coetzer (vc), Richie Berrington, Matthew Cross, Josh Davey, Con de Lange, Alasdair Evans, Michael Leask, Matt Machan, Calum MacLeod, Gavin Main, George Munsey, Safyaan Sharif, Rob Taylor, Mark Watt

South Africa: Faf du Plessis (c), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Chris Morris, Aaron Phangiso, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Dale Steyn, David Wiese

Sri Lanka: Lasith Malinga (C), Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, T M Dilshan, Niroshan Dickwella, Shehan Jayasuriya, Milinda Siriwardena, Dasun Shanaka, Chamara Kapugedara, Nuwan Kulasekera, Dushmantha Chameera, Thisara Perera, Sachithra Senanayake, Rangana Herath, Jeffrey Vandersay

West Indies: Darren Sammy (c), Samuel Badree, Sulieman Benn, Dwayne Bravo, Darren Bravo, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Carlos Brathwaite, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Jerome Taylor (one more to be named)

Zimbabwe: Sean Williams, Tendai Chatara, Wellington Masakadza, Tinashe Panyangara, Hamilton Masakadza (c), Peter Moor, Elton Chigumbura, Sikandar Raza Butt, Richmond Mutumbami (wk), Luke Jongwe, Tendai Chisoro, Neville Madziva, Malcolm Waller, Vusumuzi Sibanda, Graeme Cremer