Super15 : Bulls snatch late warm up victory over Lions

Super15 : Bulls snatch late warm up victory over Lions

Pretoria Super Rugby franchise the Bulls came from behind to beat the Lions 28-24 at the Peter Mokaba Stadium, in Polokwane, on Saturday.


Both teams scored two tries each but the Bulls were able to convert all of their tries which proved to be decisive in the end since the Lions missed two attempts.

The Lions held a deserving 12-7 at halftime and in the second half they extended that to a 19-7 lead before the Bulls fought back to trail 24-21.

The Bulls’ never-say-die attitude stood them in good stead and winger Jamba Ulengo sneaked in at the death for the matchwinning try (26-24).

The conversion opened a four-point by the time the referee sounded the final whistle (28-24).

It was a dramatic end to the match since just prior to Ulengo’s try, it looked like the Lions had done enough to clinch the result when Ruan Combrinck scored a second try (unconverted) to give his side a 24-21 lead.

Final Score Bulls 28 (7) Lions 24 (12)


Bulls 28 (7):
Tries: Jesse Kriel, Grant Hattingh, Burger Odendaal, Jamba Ulengo
Conversions: Francois Brummer (2), Tian Schoeman (2)

Tries: Warren Whiteley, Ruan Combrinck (2), Rohan Janse van Rensburg
Conversions: Elton Jantjies (2)


Bulls squad

Warrick Gelant, Travis Ismaiel, Jesse Kriel, Jan Serfontein, Bjorn Basson, Francois Brummer, Rudy Paige, Arno Botha, Hanro Liebenberg, Nic de Jager, Grant Hattingh, RG Snyman, Marcel van der Merwe, Adriaan Strauss (c), Trevor Nyakane. Replacements: Jaco Visagie, Lizo Gqoboka, Jason Jenkins, Jannes Kirsten, Piet van Zyl, Tian Schoeman, Burger Odendaal, Werner Kruger, Pierre Schoeman, Jamba Ulengo, Jade Stighling.


1 Jacques Van Rooyen , 2 Robbie Coetzee , 3 Julian Redelinghuys , 4 Andries Ferreira , 5 Franco Mostert , 6 Jaco Kriel , 7 Warwick Tecklenberg , 8 Warren Whiteley (C) , 9 Ross Cronje , 10 Elton Jantjies , 11 Courtnall Skosan , 12 Rohan Janse Van Rensburg , 13 Lionel Mapoe , 14 Ruan Combrinck , 15 Andries Coetzee

Replacements :16. Malcolm Marx , 17. Dylan Smith , 18. Ruan Dreyer , 19. Robert Kruger , 20. Martin Muller , 21. Ruan Ackermann , 22. Stephan De Witt , 23. Ruan Lerm , 24. Faf De Klerk , 25. Howard Mnisi , 26. Stokkies Hanekom , 27. Anthony Volmink , 28. Jaco Van Der Walt