SAFA : South Africa U23 leave for Brazil

SAFA : South Africa U23 leave for Brazil

South Africa’s u23 Men’s National Team will use the upcoming FIFA calendar week to fine-tune their preparations for the 2016 Rio Olympics to be staged later this year.

Da Gama’s charges will travel to Maceio in the state of Alagoas, Brazil; tomorrow night 23 March 2016, to meet their counterparts in an international friendly match against the Brazilians scheduled for Sunday, 27 March 2016 at Rei Pele Stadium.

The match is scheduled to kick off 18h30 (SA time – 12H30 Sunday morning).

The South African National u23 team qualified for the 2016 Olympic Games in December 2015, when they won bronze at the CAF U23 AFCON in Senegal.

“We are happy that the bulk of the players have reported for camp; only two players who have not reported to camp yet. Keagan Dolly will only report for camp tonight after his teams continental participation this past weekend, while Abbubaker Mobara has also not arrived.

The Golden Arrows pair Andile Fikizolo and Siyabonga Dube have been replaced by Paseke Mako and Iqraan Reyners respectively due to their MDC Championship tournament in Holland.

“The three players in Europe will join the rest of the team in Brazil upon our arrival on Thursday morning,” said Da Gama.

SA u23 squad to face Brazil

JERSEY NO.              PLAYER’S NAME                                 CLUB

1.                                    Jody FEBRUARY                                Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
2.                                   Luthando SIXHASO                           Kaizer Chiefs FC  (SA)
3.                                   Kyle PETERS                                       Cape Town All Stars FC (SA)

4.                                  Tshepo RIKHOTSO                              Bloemfontein Celtic FC (SA)
5.                                  Kwanda MNGONYAMA                       Maritzburg United FC (SA)
6.                                  Abbubaker MOBARA                            Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
7.                                  Thabo MAKHELE                                  Witbank Spurs FC (SA)
8.                                  Lorenzo GORDINHO                            Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
9.                                  Tebogo MOERANE                                Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
10.                                Iqraan REYNERS                                   Santos  FC (SA)
11.                                 Kgosietsile NTLHE                                Peterborough United FC (England)

12.                                Gift MOTUPA                                          Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
13.                                Aubrey MODIPA                                     Mpumalanga Black Aces FC (SA)
14.                                Keagan DOLLY                                        Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
15.                                Phumlani NTSHANGASE                     Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
16.                                Deolin MEKOA                                       Maritzburg United FC (SA)
17.                                Paseke MAKO                                         Cape Town All Stars  FC (SA)
18.                               Lebogang PHIRI                                     Brondby FC (Denmark)

19.                              Thabiso KUTUMELA                             Baroka FC (SA)
20.                             Sello JAFTA                                              Free State Stars FC  (SA)
21.                             Thapelo MORENA                                   Bloemfontein Celtic FC (SA)
22                              Lebogang MOTHIBA                              FC Lille (France)