SAFA : Pinto names SA FUTSAL AFCON Squad

SAFA : Pinto names SA FUTSAL AFCON Squad

The South African national Futsal team coach, João Freitas Pinto has named a strong 14-player squad to represent the country at the 5th Edition of the CAF Futsal African Cup of Nations.


The CAF Futsal AFCON will take place in Johannesburg, South Africa for the first time; from 15 – 24 April 2016, with the Standard Bank arena being the main venue of the tournament.

The Futsal National Team started preparations for AFCON in February 2016.

Coach Pinto, popularly known as “JP” started preparations with 50 players and has had to trim the squad to 14 players as per the CAF rules.

South Africa has the potential to qualify for their first FIFA Futsal World Cup, which will be held in Colombia from 14 September – 2 October 2016.

“We are very excited about the upcoming AFCON; we will have a few friendly matches with local teams before our first match next Friday.

I am pleading to supporters to come out in numbers at the Standard Bank Arena next week; to come and see the talent that this country has. I believe that this is going to be an exciting tournament and we are focused on our goal of qualifying for the FIFA Futsal World Cup,” said JP.

14 man Squad:

Jersey No. Name & Surname Province
2. Nwashokwe Gift Mashaba Free State
10. Kyle Kevin Koert Gauteng
9. Jabulani Caleb Mnisi Gauteng
14. Ponalo Motshabi Gauteng
1. Teboho Mofolo Gauteng
3. Josiah Sibusiso Tshabalala Gauteng
8. Trevino Pillay KwaZulu Natal
13. Renaldo Donnelly KwaZulu Natal
5. Donovan Gordan KwaZulu Natal
12. Wiseman Cele KwaZulu Natal
6. Radlin Dwayne Sanssoucie KwaZulu Natal
11. Nkosingiphile Nhlanhla Zwane KwaZulu Natal
4. Byron Mark Cottle Western Cape
7. Pedro Phillip Marques Western Cape