SAFA : Mashaba makes three changes to 2nd leg match vs Cameroon

SAFA : Mashaba makes three changes to 2nd leg match vs Cameroon

Bafana Bafana head coach Ephraim Shakes Mashaba has made three changes to the team that will face Cameroon in the second leg of the 2017 Gabon Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers that will take place on Tuesday, 29 March 2016.


Kickoff is at 19h00 at the Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban.

Goalkeeper Itumeleng Khune retains his place in goals and will again lead the team as captain.

The defence has a different look about it – Sifiso Hlanti will make his debut in place of the injured Thabo Matlaba (concussion) at left back, while Rivaldo Coetzee, who started on the bench in the last match, resumes his partnership in central defence alongside Eric Mathoho. Thulani Hlatshwayo moves to right back to replace Anele Ngcongca (calf muscle strain).

Hlatshwayo played with Mathoho in central defence in the first leg in Limbe.

There is only one change in midfield – Thulani Serero, who started off the bench in Cameroon, takes the place of another injured player, Mpho Makola (quad muscle contusion). He will be assisted by the trio of Andile Jali, Hlompho Kekana and Mandla Masango.

The strikeforce has been left intact with Tokelo Rantie and Thamsanqa Gabuza retaining their places.

There are also a lot of changes on the bench.

Jackson Mabokgwane comes in place of the injured Darren Keet (stomach bug).

Siyabonga Nhlapo, Asavela Mbekile, Kamohelo Mokotjo and Ndumiso Mabena were all in the grandstands in the previous match but will start on the bench this time around, with Jabulani Shongwe and Prince Nxumalo retaaining their places on the bench.

The injured Keet, Makola, Ngcongca and Matlaba will play no part in the match in Durban, as well as William Twala, Themba Zwane and Cheslyn Jampies.

South Africa starting 11 vs Cameroon in Durban:
Itumeleng Khune (GK) (c), Thulani Hlatshwayo, Sifiso Hlanti, Rivaldo Coetzee, Erick Mathoho, Thulani Serero, Andile Jali, Hlompho Kekana, Mandla Masango, Tokelo Rantie, Thamsanqa Gabuza

Jackson Mabokgwane, Siyabonga Nhlapho, Asavela Mbekile, Kamohelo Mokotjo, Jabulani Shongwe, Ndumiso Mabena, Prince Nxumalo

Not considered for this match:
Darren Keet (injured), Anele Ngcongca (injured), Thabo Matlaba (injured), Mpho Makola (injured), William Twala, Cheslyn Jampies, Themba Zwane