SAFA : Gauteng are Futsal Inter-provincial Champs

SAFA  : Gauteng are Futsal Inter-provincial Champs

Gauteng has been crowned champions of the SAFA FUTSAL Inter-provincial after defeating Limpopo 9-2 at the Orlando Communal Hall in Soweto on Friday, 19 February 2016.

20160217-futasl01The week-long event kicked off on Monday, 15 February and showed off some of the country’s best talents. The five-a-side tournament also exposed many people to a different type of football.

There was entertainment from the first whistle, with Gauteng displaying fancy football on the court.

Also Read : What is Futsal?

It did not take them long to score their first goal of the match while Limpopo tried to keep up with the tempo of the game.

At the break the hosts led 4-0.

The visitors managed to pull one back in the early stages of the second half but failed to sustain the momentum as Gauteng scored two goals in 10 minutes to eventually claim a 9-2 victory.

Earlier in the day Western Cape proved to be stronger against a Gauteng Invitational side when they won the 3rd place play off 7-5.

It was an exciting match that saw the Gauteng Invitational side open the scoring of the day and took a 3-2 lead at the break.

The second half did not disappoint, as both teams were able to penetrate each other’s defence, but Western Cape took the honours against a very skillful Gauteng side.

Meanwhile a provisional training squad to represent South Africa at the 2016 FUTSAL Africa Cup of Nations Tournament will be announced next week.

That tournament will be played in South Africa and gets underway from 15 – 24 April this year. It will be played at the Ellis Park Arena, Wembley Stadium in Johannesburg.

Held under the auspices of the Confederation of Africa Football (CAF) for the men’s national teams, it will feature eight nations – Angola, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Mozambique, South Africa, Tunisia and Zambia – who will vie for the title.

The top three will represent the continent at the eighth edition of the 2016 FIFA Futsal World Cup in Colombia from 10 September to 1 October where 24 countries will take part.