SAFA : Da Gama names u23 squad for Brazil friendly

SAFA : Da Gama names u23 squad for Brazil friendly

South Africa’s u23 Men’s National Team coach Owen da Gama, has named a 22-man squad to face Brazil in an international friendly match scheduled for 27 March 2016 at Rei Pele Stadium in Maceio in the state of Alagoas, Brazil.


The match kicks off 18h30 (SA time – 12H30 Sunday morning).

The clash is part of preparations for both teams ahead of the 2016 Rio Olympic Games in August. It is also a clash that will give the visitors a taste of what to expect when the tournaments starts.

Da Gama’s charges last played in December last year in Senegal when the team qualified for the Olympic Games and has kept the bulk of that team that qualified when they beat the hosts on penalties.

Da Gama has managed to secure the services of three overseas-based players – defender Kgosietsile Ntlhe (Peterborough United FC, England); midfielder Lebogang Phiri (Brondby FC, Denmark) and striker Lebogang Mothiba (FC Lille, France).

“You can never ask for a better opposition than this. First of all, we will be able to measure ourselves with some of the best players at our level, and secondly we will get a glimpse of what to expect when we return to Brazil for the Games. I am very happy that we were able to secure this all-important fixture,” said Da Gama.

“I believe, with my technical team, we have selected a very strong squad that will show what we are capable of. No one will walk into the team; everyone has to work for his position.”

The SA u23s will assemble on Monday, 21 March and leave two days later (Wednesday, 23 March) for Brazil.

They will arrive in Maceio the following day (Thursday, 24 March).

Meanwhile, the draw for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games will be conducted on Thursday, 14 April 2016. It will be held at Maracana Stadium, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil starting at 10h30 local time in Brazil (15h30 South African time).

The tournament runs from 3 – 20 August.

SA u23 squad to face Brazil


1. Jody FEBRUARY – Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)

2. Luthando SIXHASO Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

3. Kyle PETERS Cape Town All Stars FC (SA)


4. Tshepo RIKHOTSO Bloemfontein Celtic FC (SA)

5. Kwanda MNGONYAMA Maritzburg United FC (SA)

6. Abbubaker MOBARA Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)

7. Thabo MAKHELE Witbank Spurs FC (SA)

8. Lorenzo GORDINHO Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

9. Tebogo MOERANE Bidvest Wits FC (SA)

10. Ikraam RAYNERS Santos FC (SA)

11. Kgosietsile NTLHE Peterborough United FC (England)


12. Gift MOTUPA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

13. Aubrey MODIBA Mpumalanga Black Aces FC (SA)

14. Keagan DOLLY Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)

15. Phumlani NTSHANGASE Bidvest Wits FC (SA)

16. Deolin MEKOA Maritzburg United FC (SA)

17. Paseka MAKO Cape Town All Stars FC (SA)

18. Lebogang PHIRI Brondby FC (Denmark)


19. Thabiso KUTUMELA Baroka FC (SA)

20. Sello JAFTA Free State Stars FC (SA)

21. Thapelo MORENA Bloemfontein Celtic FC (SA)

22. Lebogang MOTHIBA FC Lille (France)