SAFA : Amajita back in camp to take on Lesotho in AYC qualifiers

The South African u20 Men’s National Team is back in training for their 3rd round first leg clash of the 2017 CAF u20 African Youth Championships qualifier against Lesotho.

download (35)The match takes place on Sunday, 10 July 2016 at the Setsoto Stadium in the capital Maseru.

Kickoff is at 15h00.

The 2017 AYC will be staged in Zambia.

South Africa reached the third round after defeating Namibia 2-0 on aggregate, while Lesotho disposed of Mozambique in a 2-1 aggregate victory.

Head coach of South Africa, Thabo Senong, has selected 23 players to do national duty.

“We are excited about being back in camp and we are looking forward to the tie against Lesotho on the weekend. The sole focus this week is converting our chances because we missed many of them in our previous games. In future matches, this could lead to our downfall if we don’t rectify it now. At this level if you don’t bury your chances you will be punished. And also it is important that players get used to scoring at this age so that when they progress to higher national teams it becomes routine,” said Senong.

“Another challenge is that at this time of the year it is winter in the southern hemisphere, but colder in Lesotho where it sometimes reaches freezing point, so we have to prepare our boys for the conditions we might come across in Maseru – so they have to be ready mentally.”

The squad is holding their training sessions at the Nike Football Training Centre in Pimville, Soweto.

They depart for Lesotho on Thursday, 7 July.



1. Mondli MPOTO                             SuperSport United Academy  (SA)

2. Sanele TSHABALALA                  Bidvest Wits Academy  (SA)

3. Darren JOHNSON                          Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)


4. Sirgio KAMMIES                            Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)

5. Reeve FROSLER                             Bidvest Wits Academy (SA)

6. Thendo MUKUMELA                     Mamelodi Sundowns Academy (SA)

7. Shane SARALINA                          Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)

8. Tercious MALEPE                          Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

9. Katlego MOHAMME                      SuperSport United Academy (SA)


10. Kanelelo MOTSOENENG             School of Excellence (SA)

11. Teboho MOKOENA                       SuperSport United Academy  (SA)

12. Sipho MBULE                                Harmony Academy (SA)

13. Sydney MTSHWENI                      SuperSport United Academy (SA)

14. Nelson MALULEKE                      SuperSport United Academy (SA)

15. Sibongakonke MBATHA                Bidvest Wits FC (SA)

16. Masilakhe PHOHLONGO              Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)

17. Kobamelo KODISANG                  Platinum Stars FC

18. Kamohelo SITHOLE                      Orlando Pirates Academy (SA)

19. Zama RAMBUWANE                    SuperSport United FC (SA)


20. Liam JORDAN                                Bidvest Wits FC (SA)

21. Fagrie LAKAY                                 SuperSport United FC (SA)

22. Luvuyo MKATSHANA                    Bidvest Wits Academy  (SA)

23. Kelesto MAKGALWA                      Mamelodi Sundowns Academy  (SA)