PSL : Katsande penalty sinks Celtic

PSL : Katsande penalty sinks Celtic

A second half penalty by Willard Katsande was enough to give Kaizer Chiefs their first win in 2016 as they beat Bloemfontein Celtic 1-0 at Free State Stadium on Sunday afternoon.


Both sides were chasing their first wins in the New Year and the hosts started the match with a youthful side as they dictated terms in the opening stages of the tie.

After 10 minutes of action, the Amakhosi were awarded a set piece just outside the box which Siphiwe Tshabalala took, but Celtic partially cleared the danger only for George Maluleka’s follow up shot to hit the side netting.

Serame Letsoaka’s men responded swiftly when Wayde Jooste delivered a great cross from the right, but Lerato Lamola’s attempt went just wide.

Just after 30 minutes into the contest, good interplay from the visitors saw Maluleka shooting narrowly wide from just inside the box.

In the 40th minute, Siwlelele wasted a wonderful opportunity to grab the lead when Jooste sent in a cross, but it went astray with nobody to finish it off.

It was 0-0 at half-time.

Immediately after the resumption of the second stanza, Celtic exchanged good one touches to put Gabardinho Mhango into space, but the Malawian forward was denied by Pieterse.

Towards the 60th minute, Tignyemb showed his class when he tipped Letsholonyane’s beautiful shot from the edge of the box over the cross bar.

Nine minutes later, Chiefs debutant William Twala hit the woodwork with Tignyemb beaten.

In the 71st minute, Amakhosi were awarded a penalty when Twala was fouled in the box and Katsande converted from the spot to hand Chiefs the lead, 1-0.

Towards the final 10 minutes of the match Siwelele tried all they could to bounce back into the encounter, but the Amakhosi successfully held on for the win.

Chiefs move to the fourth spot on the Absa Premiership log table with 25 points, leaving Siwelele at number nine with 17 points.

Bloemfontein Celtic: (0) 0
Kaizer Chiefs: (0) 1 (Katsande 71’)

Celtic: Tignyemb, Rikhotso, Lubisi (Lakay 88’), April, Jooste, Ndengane, Nyatama, Morena, Shikweni (Ntanga 62’), Lamola, Mhango (Pelembe 73’)

Chiefs: Pieterse, Gaxa, Gordinho, Mathoho, Masilela, Katsande, Letsholonyane, Maluleka (Bukenya 79’), Matovu (Twala 55’), Tshabalala, Abraw (Ndulula 64’)

Source : PSL Media