NedbankCup: The Nedbank Cup Previous Champions

NedbankCup: The Nedbank Cup Previous Champions

The 2016 Nedbank Cup proper kicks off this week, with 32 clubs across the country dreaming about becoming the next champions.


We take a quick look at the previous eight finals, since Nedbank took over the sponsorship of this much loved competition. Orlando Pirates and Mamelodi Sundowns have won the competition twice in this period, no other side winning it more than once.

2008: Mamelodi Sundowns 1–0 Mpumalanga Black Aces (Johannesburg Stadium)

Wining coach: Trott Moloto

Goal scorer: Lerato Chabangu

2009: Moroka Swallows 1–0 Pretoria University (Rand Stadium)

Winning coach: Júlio Leal

Goal scorer: Vinicius Da Silva

2010: Bidvest Wits 3–0 AmaZulu (Soccer City)

Winning coach: Roger De Sa

Goal scorers: Fabricio da Silva, Sibusiso Vilakazi x 2

2011: Orlando Pirates 3–1 Black Leopards (Mbombela Stadium)

Winning coach: Ruud Krol

Goal scorers: Leopards: Rooi Mahamutsa og. Pirates: Isaac Chansa, Thulasizer Mbuyane x2

2012: Supersport United 2–0 Mamelodi Sundowns (Orlando Stadium)

Winning coach: Gavin Hunt

Goal scorers: Thabo September, Kermit Erasmus

2013: Kaizer Chiefs 1–0 Supersport United (Moses Mabhida Stadium)

Winning coach: Stuart Baxter

Goal scorer: Bernard Parker

2014: Orlando Pirates 3–1 Bidvest Wits (Moses Mabhida Stadium)

Winning coach: Vladimir Vermezovic

Goal scorers: Pirates: Kermit Erasmus x2, Sifiso Myeni. Bidvest Wits: Jabulani Shongwe

2015: Mamelodi Sundowns 0–0 (aet; 4–3 penalties) Ajax Cape Town (Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium)

Winning coach: Pitso Mosimane