MTN8: Cape Town City edges Polokwane City to reach MTN 8 Last Four

MTN8: Cape Town City edges Polokwane City to reach MTN 8 Last Four

Cape Town City are through to semi-finals of the 2017 MTN8 after edging Polokwane City 1-0 at the Cape Town Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

An own by Polokwane City defender Sibusiso Mbonani in the first half was the enough to hand Benni McCarthy’s charges a win to progress to the stage of the prestigious MTN8 tournament.

The Citizens were first to attack when the much talked about transfer bound Lebogang Manyama created the first clear chance of the game when Laid a perfect pass for Lehlohonolo Majoro in a goal scoring opportunity, but the striker failed to capitalize as Polokwane City goalkeeper George Chigova came out

A 38th-minute mistake by Polokwane defender Sibusiso Mbonani resulted in an own goal as he tried to head back to his goal keeper hands with the ball going over goalkeeper’s hands handing Benni McCarthy charges a 1-0 lead.

Polokwane City strike Puleng Tlolane missed two clear chances with the Cape Town City goalkeeper Shu-Aib Walters coming into action to deny the visitors an equalizing goal.

The visitors put pressure on the host but failed to convert on the chances they received and Cape Town City should have been awarded a penalty when a Manyama’s goalbound shot was cleared by Thapelo Tshilo handling the ball with the referee signaling play on much to the amazement of the Citizen midfielder and technical team. The hosts kept their 1-0 lead and defended well to keep the lead as well giving the Cape Town based outfit a win over Polokwane City.

Former Orlando Pirates and Mamelodi Sundowns midfielder Teko Modise suffered a blow when he got injured before the start of the game as he was included in the starting eleven. He was replaced by Nodada.

CPT City : Walters, Mkhize, Johannes, Gumede, Dove, Masina (Patosi) Putsche, Nodada, Lakay, Manyama (Seedat), Majoro (Matsi)

PLK City: Chigova, Semenya, Mbonani, Tshilo, Hlongwane, J. Maluleke, Seabi (W. Maluleke), Phiri (Vilakazi), Mngomezulu, Ramagalela, Tlolane (Mncwango)