Khune to face Nigeria


Bafana Bafana coach Shakes Mashaba has made seven changes to the starting line-up that will face Nigeria in an international friendly match on Sunday, 29 March at the Mbombela Stadium.

Kick-off is at 15h30.

Only goalkeeper Itumeleng Khune, defenders Thulani Hlatshwayo and Thabo Matlaba as well midfielder Thulani Serero have been retained from the squad that defeated Swaziland 3-1 at the Somhlolo Stadium on Wednesday, 25 March.

Making up the defence are Erick Mathoho, who missed the trip to Swaziland due to family commitments, and Rivaldo Coetzee with Thapelo Morena and Daniel Cardoso making way.

In the middle of the park Serero will be partnered by Andile Jali, Oupa Manyisa and Bongani Zungu, in place of Kamohelo Mokotjo, Cole Alexander and Ayanda Patosi.

The strike force has been changed completely with Tokelo Rantie and Sbusiso Vilakazi getting the nod ahead of Thabo Mnyamane and Lehlohonolo Majoro.

Four players have not been considered for the match as only 23 can be in the match-day squad Mnyamane, Lebogang Phiri, Morena and Jabulani Shongwe.

Mathoho, Manyisa, and Rantie are the only survivors in the starting line-up of the last match between the two nations where it ended with a 2-all stalemate in Uyo, Nigeria.

Rantie scored the two goals.

The other players who were part of the squad in Uyo are Khuzwayo, Coetzee, Jali, Majoro, Nhlapho and Serero.

SA 11 vs Nigeria: Itumeleng Khune (GK), Rivaldo Coetzee, Thabo Matlaba, Thulani Hlatshwayo (c), Erick Mathoho, Thulani Serero, Andile Jali, Oupa Manyisa, Bongani Zungu, Sbusiso Vilakazi, Tokelo Rantie

Subs: Jackson Mabokgwane (GK), Brilliant Khuzwayo (GK), Siyabonga Nhlapho, Sbusiso Khumalo, Mandla Masango, Siphelele Ntshangase, Daniel Cardoso, Kamohelo Mokotjo, Cole Alexander, Lehlohonolo Majoro, Ayanda Patosi, Thuso Phala