KaziFootball : Philly’s games Soccer Feast Draw

KaziFootball : Philly’s games Soccer Feast Draw

Tembisa and surrounding areas will have a soccer feast for thirteen days during the 25th edition of the Philly’s games tournament.

The 13-day off-season tournament begins on the 16th and ends on the 30th of December, but breaks between the 25th and the 26th for the community of Tembisa to be able to spend time with their families.

The occasion is a 13 days of non-stop entertainment, which brings a lot of excitement during the festive season.

The event has been attracting more than 10 000 people per day to watch township soccer exhibition at its best.

The event does not only display soccer but it becomes the home of style, cars, long lost friends meeting again, fans enjoying drinks and celebrities interacting with admirers.

Thirty-two(32) teams are anticipated to participate in this edition of this tournament which originated in 1992 with only two teams participating.

The spectators will able to experience some of the best up and coming footballers (u13’s, u15’s & u17’s), local talent, PSL stars and ex PSL stars (PSL Masters) but they can also witness the country’s finest artists performing as well as the best DJs South Africa has to offer.

In the last five years this township tournament with fat cheque has been won by Amandla (owned by the MEC of education in Gauteng, Panyaza Lesufi) in 2011.

In 2012 it was secured by Amasokolara under the mentorship of Orlando Pirates legend, Jerry Sikhosana.

In 2013 and 2014 it was taken away from the Tembisa teams by Cheese and Gomora from Alexander.

The new kids on the block, Rebels from Reiger Park who were coming for the second time in the tournament were crowned the 2015 champions defeating Amandla.

Tonight( Friday, 9th December 2016) the draw between the unseeded teams will be made during the launch which is expected to take place at Crowthrone in Midrand.

The seeded teams which ended up in the top 8 last year are as follows:
1. Rebels
2. Amandla
3. Masokolara
4. Mad Bulls
5. Umlilo
6. Abarondoli
7. Ama BEE

The undeeded teams which includes the new teams are as follows:
1. Ezimnandi
2. Klipfotein United
3. Siyabuswa United
4. Zone 14
5. Ama 1’s & 2’s
6. New School
7. Sgodi FC
8. Africa
9. Amablessers
10. Sidl’ Kotini
11. Alex Mates
12. Boko Haram
13. G-string
14. Guara Guara
15. Zitholenathi
16. Gunners
17. Bayekane United