Fustal : Pinto trims Futsal squad down to 26 players

Fustal : Pinto trims Futsal squad down to 26 players

Newly appointed head coach of the South African Futsal National Team, João Freitas Pinto, has trimmed his provisional squad of 48 down to 26 players as preparations continue for the upcoming 2016 CAF Futsal Cup of Nations (AFCON).

FutsalThe tournament will be hosted in South Africa for the first time and runs from 15 – 24 April.

Last weekend (4 – 6 March 2016) Pinto held a training camp where he had a chance to take a closer look at the players he had selected during the SAFA Interprovincial tournament a few weeks ago.

Popularly know as JP, Pinto says South Africa has the potential to qualify for their first ever FIFA Futsal World Cup, which will be held in Colombia from 14 September – 2 October 2016.

“The squad which we have trimmed down comprises of players with a lot of experience. Many of the players have been playing Futsal and 5-a-side football for almost 10 years, and the talent they have is just unbelievable,” said JP.

Among the players making the grade in the 26-man squad is Mark Haskins, former Jomo Cosmos player – and the South African Futsal National team will look to players such as him to motivate the squad to success.

JP is scheduled to host another training camp shortly to work on the tactical and technical aspects of his game.

The selected 26-man SA Futsal squad:

NAME                                                                           PROVINCE

1. Nwashokwe Gift Mashaba                                                Free State

2. Justice Moshela                                                                 Limpopo

3. Ernest Mahlaba                                                                  Mpumalanga

4. Mpho Mkhwanazi                                                              Gauteng

5. Kyle Koert                                                                            Gauteng

6. Jabulani Mnisi                                                                    Gauteng

7. Ponalo Motshabi                                                                 Gauteng

8. Sibusiso Makhoba                                                                Gauteng

9. Mark Haskins                                                                       Gauteng

10. Simanga Tshabalala                                                            Gauteng

11. Rafique Hassim                                                                  Gauteng

12. Teboho Mofolo                                                                   Gauteng

13. Sibusiso Tshabalala                                                            Gauteng

14. Trevino Pillay                                                                     KwaZulu Natal

15. Renaldo Donnelly                                                               KwaZulu Natal

16. Donovan Gordan                                                                KwaZulu Natal

17. Wiseman Cele                                                                     KwaZulu Natal

18. Demaine Ho Ghong                                                            KwaZulu Natal

19. Hashim Khan                                                                      KwaZulu Natal

20. Radlin Sanssoucie                                                               KwaZulu Natal

21. Taheer Syed                                                                         KwaZulu Natal

22. Simphiwe Mgedezi                                                              KwaZulu Natal

23. Sedwyn George                                                                    KwaZulu Natal

24. Byron Cottle                                                                         Western Cape

25. Pedro Marques                                                                      Western Cape

26. Yusuf White                                                                           Western Cape