Euro 2016: England Squad Announced but Drinkwater fails to make the cut

Euro 2016: England Squad Announced but Drinkwater fails to make the cut

England Euro 2016 squad announcement – Marcus Rashford makes the cut while Townsend, Drinkwater and Delph


The three to be cut from the initial 26-man squad are Danny Drinkwater, Andros Townsend and Fabian Delph.

Roy Hodgson has handed both Daniel Sturridge and Marcus Rashford an opportunity to make a mark at the summer’s European Championship after including the strikers among a quintet of forwards in his final 23-man squad for Euro 2016.

The England manager, who had already seen Fabian Delph ruled out with a groin injury, chose to omit Leicester City’s Danny Drinkwater and the Newcastle winger Andros Townsend as he trimmed his party ahead of Uefa’s midnight (CET) deadline.

The pair were told they had not made the cut in a face to face meeting with Hodgson after training at Watford’s London Colney base on Tuesday morning.

Drinkwater’s omission, despite a fine season as a key member of Leicester City’s Premier League title winners, was anticipated, the decision to cut Townsend from the party was taken despite Gary Neville, the assistant coach, championing the Newcastle player’s cause.

Sturridge’s inclusion comes after he proved he had recovered fully from his latest calf complaint, which had ruled him out of last Friday’s friendly victory over Australia at the Stadium of Light.

The inclusion of Rashford is arguably more eye-catching given the 18-year-old was playing U18 academy football at Manchester United only a few months ago. In the period since he has scored on his first-team, Premier League debut and senior England debuts, as well as in his first Manchester derby, with his form persuading Hodgson that he would be an asset in France despite the fact that Harry Kane, Wayne Rooney and Jamie Vardy will start as the team’s first-choice forwards.

England Euro 2016 Squad

Goalkeepers: Fraser Forster (Southampton), Joe Hart (Manchester City), Tom Heaton (Burnley)

Defenders: Ryan Betrand (Southampton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Nathaniel Clyne (Liverpool), Danny Rose (Tottenham), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), John Stones (Everton), Kyle Walker (Tottenham)

Midfielders: Dele Alli (Tottenham), Ross Barkley (Everton), Eric Dier (Tottenham), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Liverpool), James Milner (Liverpool), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City),  Jack Wilshere (Arsenal).

Forwards: Harry Kane (Tottenham), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Jamie Vardy (Leicester)