Cricket : Rabada wins record six awards

Cricket : Rabada wins record six awards

Kagiso Rabada’s phenomenal rise as a Proteas bowler was recognised when he won six awards at the CSA ceremony in Johannesburg on Tuesday night.


The 21-year-old, who made his T20 international debut in 2014, and his Test debut only in November last year, eclipses both AB de Villiers and Hashim Amla, who have won five awards at the prestigious ceremony.

Apart from being named SA Cricketer of the Year by CSA, he was honoured by his peers with the Players’ Player of the Year award, and also took the Fans’ Player of the Year accolade.

He was also rated the Test Player of the Year, the ODI Cricketer of the Year and he bowled the Ram Delivery of the Year to England’s Jason Roy in the T20I at the Wanderers.

Rabada has taken 24 wickets in six Test matches at an average of 24.7 and 37 wickets in 20 ODIs at an economy rate of 4.75.

The other awards went to Imran Tahir, as the T20 Player of the Year and Stephen Cook, whose century on debut earned him the Newcomer of the Year prize. Temba Bavuma won the KFC So Good award, while Dane van Niekerk was named Women’s Cricketer of the Year.

Haroon Lorgat, the CEO of Cricket South Africa, praised Rabada as a level-headed player beyond his years.

‘With so many injuries to our main fast bowlers this year, he has had to step up, and how brilliantly he has done that,’ he said. ‘Added to his record-breaking performances and statistics, is his humility and level-headedness that you would normally associate with a senior player.’

Other award winners:

Sunfoil Series Cricketer of the Year: Heino Kuhn (Titans)
Domestic Players’ Player of the Year: Heino Kuhn (Titans)
Momentum One-Day Cup Player of the Year: Alviro Petersen (Highveld Lions)
Ram Slam Player of the Year: Albie Morkel (Titans)
Domestic Newcomer of the Year: Nicky van den Bergh
SACA Most Valuable Player of the Year: Dwaine Pretorius
Africa T20 Cup Player of the Year: Lungi Ngidi (Northern)
Coach of the Year: Rob Walter (Titans)