Cricket : Hazlewood charged after DRS drama

Cricket : Hazlewood charged after DRS drama

Fast bowler pleads guilty after frustrations spills over in second Test

3906Josh Hazlewood has pleaded guilty to a charge of dissent by the International Cricket Council after an exchange with umpire Ranmore Martinesz prior to lunch on day four of the second Test against New Zealand in Christchurch.

Hazlewood and his teammates believed they had Williamson out in the last over before lunch, but when Smith called for a referral after the original not-out ruling, third umpire Richard Illingworth ruled ball had hit bat before thudding into the batsman’s front pad.

After a wicketless first session, Hazlewood’s offensive language was caught by the stump microphones at the non-striker’s end.

Josh Hazlewood has been fined 15% of his match fee after the fast bowler.

“It’s unfortunate because these guys are so invested in the game, they’re trying so hard and they just forget they have to watch themselves in that situation,” former Australia opener Chris Rogers told Optus Sport’s Across the Ditch.