Cricket : CSA names National Academy Intake for 2016

Cricket : CSA names National Academy Intake for 2016

CRICKET SOUTH AFRICA (CSA) today named the men’s and women’s intake for this year’s Powerade National Academy Programme.

2015 Momentum One Day Cup: Sunfoil Dolphins v VKB KnightsThe men’s programme will be split into four phases and run from May 23 2016, culminating in the series against the Sri Lankan Emerging Touring team in the second half of August.

“The National Academy Programme forms a very strategic part of our developmental pipeline,” commented CSA General Manager: Cricket, Corrie van Zyl, “and has as its aim to prepare young players for the demands of professional cricket. These selected players that are carefully identified include previous graduates of the SA U/19 programme, performing Senior Provincial and emerging Franchise players.

“this past year saw a highly successful SA Emerging Squad tour of Sri Lanka with all the players being drawn from the National Academy and a number of them have already gone on to the next level of making their respective Franchise squads. This programme must assist CSA and its Members to develop the identified players in such a way that will produce quality players for our domestic competitions as well as prepare them for future international participation.”

Through the partnership with Powerade as the CSA High Performance programme sponsor, the programme has the ability to make a meaningful impact on the development of these identified players.

Powerade SA National Academy Men’s Squad: Karabo Mogotsi (Gauteng), Marques Ackerman (North West), Bjorn Fortuin (Lions), Ngazabini Sigwili (Eastern Province), Geraldo George (Boland), Dayyaan Galiem (Western Province), Tsepang Dithole (KZN Inland), Simon Khomari (Boland), Jason Smith (Western Province), Eldrid Hawken (Northerns), Vincent Moore (Easterns), Rivaldo Moonsamy (Northerns), Leus du Plooy (Free State), Tshepo Ntuli (Free State), Patrick Kruger (Northern Cape), Mbulelo Budaza (Northern Cape), Andile Phehlukwayo (Dolphins), Sibonelo Makhanya (Dolphins).

Head coach: Shukri Conrad

The Women’s Powerade National Academy Intake for 2016 has had a strategic change this year and includes most of the Momentum National Protea Women’s team in order to assist in their preparation for this very important year of competition.

Powerade SA National Academy Women’s Squad: Trisha Chetty (Gauteng), Lara Goodall (Western Province), Marizanne Kapp (S Province), Mignon du Preez (Northerns), Masabata Klaas (Free State), Sune Luus (Northerns), Chloe Tryone (KZN), Moseline Daniels (Boland), Kakha Ayabonga (Border), Ismail Shabnim (Gauteng), Dane van Niekerk (Eastern Province), Sinalo Japhta (North West), Odine Kirsten (Northerns), Michelle Burt (Northerns)

Head coach: Hilton Moreeng