Cricket : ACC Asia Cup 2016 kicks off

Cricket : ACC Asia Cup 2016 kicks off

The ACC Asia Cup is a men’s One Day International & Twenty20 International cricket tournament.

images (19)

It was established in 1983 when the Asian Cricket Council was founded as a measure to promote goodwill between Asian countries. It was originally scheduled to be held every two years.

The first tournament was held in 1984 in Sharjah in the United Arab Emirates where the council’s offices were based (until 1995). India boycotted the 1986 tournament due to strained cricketing relations with Sri Lanka. Pakistan boycotted the 1990-91 tournament due to strained political relations with India. The 1993 tournament was cancelled due to strained political relations between India and Pakistan. The ACC has announced that the tournament will be held biennially from 2008 onwards. The ICC has ruled that all games played in the Asia Cup have official ODI status.

After downsizing of Asian Cricket Council in 2015, it was announced by the ICC that Asia Cup events from 2016 will be played on a rotation basis between One Day International and Twenty20 International format, on the basis of format of upcoming world events. As a result, the 2016 event will be first event played in T20 format and will feature as preparation tournament ahead of 2016 ICC World Twenty20.

In ODIs Both India and Sri Lanka have won the tournament the most times that being five.

After Asian Cricket Council downsized by ICC in 2015, it was announced that Asia Cup tournaments will be played on rotation basis in ODI and T20I format. As a result, 2016 events will be first tournament in T20 format and will be played between five teams just ahead of 2016 ICC World Twenty20. The 2016 edition of the Asia Cup tournament will be held in Bangladesh for the third consecutive time from 24th February to 6th March.

In 2016 Asia Cup There will be four confirmed full test teams (Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh) plus one associate team from the four Asian teams who already have T20 status (Afghanistan, UAE, Nepal and Hong Kong). So teams will compete in next years Asia Cup which will provide good experience for Asian teams to get themselves ready for T20 world cup to follow immediately.

UAE has qualified for the T20 Asia Cup 2016 and they will join Bangladesh, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka for the 11 day competition. schedule and fixtures has been announced and below is the list of entire tournament matches where five teams will participate. Every team will play one match against every other team. Thats four games for every team and the top two will contest the final on 05 march 2016.

Twenty20 Asia Cup 2016 Schedule

NO#            MATCHESDATE (2016)             TIME

1                  India vs Bangladesh               24 February19:00 IST / 13:30 uk

2                 Sri Lanka vs UAE                     25 February19:00 IST / 13:30 uk

3                 Bangladesh vs UAE                  26 February19:00 IST / 13:30 uk

4                 India vs Pakistan                      27 February19:00 IST / 13:30 uk

5                 Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka       28 February19:00 IST / 13:30 uk

6                 Pakistan vs UAE                        29 February19:00 IST / 13:30 uk

7                 India vs Sri Lanka                     01 March19:00 IST / 13:30 uk

8                 Pakistan vs Bangaldesh          02 March19:00 IST / 13:30 uk

9                 India vs UAE                               03 March19:00 IST / 13:30 uk

10               Pakistan vs Sri Lanka             04 March19:00 IST / 13:30 uk

11               Asia Cup Final                            05 March19:00 IST / 13:30 uk